top of page

About The Railway Coastal Museum

The Railway Coastal Museum tells the fascinating story of the great initiative, courage, and sacrifice involved in building and operating the Newfoundland Railway and Coastal Boat services. Theses services helped overcome isolation and opened up the vast resources of the island of Newfoundland.


The original St. John's train station was located in the east end of town, but the Reid Family agreed to build a new headquarters in the west end, resulting in the building now known as the Railway Coastal Museum. Constructed with granite from a Newfoundland quarry, the station was designed to reflect the style of other railway stations in Canada at the time. The Riverhead Station, which was completed in 1903, was restored by the Johnson Family Foundation with support from the City of St. John's and financial assistance from the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA).

The Railway Coastal Museum occupies the entire ground floor and the passenger platform at the rear of the building.

Riverhead Station, Circa 1920s

Riverhead Station, Circa 1920s

Newfoundland Railway During WWII

Visit the Virtual Museum

RCM Banner V4.png
bottom of page